Every cake has a story and every story should have a cake……

Time slips away.  Ummmmm…..that’s not right.  Time gallops away.  Life is crazy, but I’m not telling you anything that you don’t already know.  Well, maybe your life is normal but my life is crazy.  Nothing boring here.  No one day looks exactly the same as another and, come to think of it, that’s just the way I like it.  Kind of like cakes…….no one cake is exactly like another.

Wow, it’s been a while since we’ve written anything.  I apologize.  I keep waiting for some kind of major event or inspiration, but most of the time, I just haven’t had time to think, let alone write.  Because it’s been a while since we’ve written anything, I thought it might be nice to bring you up to speed with what we’ve been doing, because we certainly haven’t been idle.

As I said in the title, every cake has a story and every story deserves a cake.  Not every story gets a cake but here are the ones, lately, that have a story.  We’ve been told how much you enjoy seeing pictures of our cakes so I’ll post some pictures and the story to go with each one.

Every cake has meaning.  Every cake is baked for a purpose.  Every cake has a story.

Around the time that we were working on the competition components we received a request from a friend for some decorations for cupcakes that they were making for their little boy’s one year old birthday.  We didn’t need to do the cupcakes, just the decorations.  They told us that he loves to play with his little kitchen so, could we please make pots and pans and kitchen items?  We decided to use fondant instead of gumpaste since they were going on cupcakes and fondant is much more palatable (at least I think so).  I pictured the little boy picking a pan off of a cupcake and popping it in his mouth.  Well, maybe not since he’s only a year old but certainly his big brother would eat one.

I have to admit that I had a little trouble thinking of things to make other than pots and pans but once we got into it, we came up with the colanders, toaster and teapot.  I think the teapot was my favorite.

Megan and I absolutely love it when someone asks us to do a cake as a surprise for someone they love.  It’s always such a treat as they describe the things that are special to their loved one.  We especially love it when a person gives us a whole laundry list of things that we could put on a cake and then they give us the creative freedom to come up with our own design.  Some people are very specific and we actually had one person draw out a picture for us so that we would know exactly what they wanted.

We were contacted by a young woman who had gone to middle school and high school with my daughters.  Her little girl was turning one and she wanted a cake for her.  The little girl loves dogs so she wanted a puppy on top.  No problem.  I decided to surprise her and add her little girl to the top of the cake.  As time drew closer and we firmed up details, she asked if we could match the cake to the dress that her little girl was wearing to her party.  What a fun challenge!!!!

Here’s the dress…..

Here’s the cake…..

We put the dress on the little girl as well.

Here’s a fun one….

A friend asked us to do a cake for her nephew who was turning 21.  Love, love, love when people ask us to do a cake and then give us the details for the person that it’s for.  The young man, her nephew, is a business major and loves finance.  He also loves tennis.  Hmmmmmmm, how to incorporate those two?  He wears sunglasses a lot and he goes to Penn State.  We decided we would put him sitting on top of the cake but what details would pull this all together?

Tennis racket and balls…..dollar signs……Penn State paw print……..

and 21 on the calculator sitting beside him.

Another cake that we were asked to do was a Curious George cake for a friend of Megan’s whose little boy was turning two.  I know that kids adopt a lot of different characters that become their special friends but Curious George wasn’t one that I normally would have thought of being carried around.  It was so adorable…..when we delivered the cake and the little boy came walking in the room, he was carrying his well-loved-looking Curious George.  We were pretty happy, as well, that they were pretty happy with the cake.

We had a request from a very dear friend to do a birthday cake for her very special husband.  These people are some of the most precious people to us.  Megan has gone on three missions trips to Russia with them but most importantly, the wife was Megan’s second grade teacher AND one of two teachers who inspired Megan to become a teacher.  We wanted this cake to be special.  We want all of our cakes to be special but this one was indeed a labor of love.  The husband loves baseball.  Need I say more.

We wrote a quote on the cake…you know….something to sum up how people who love the game of baseball feel about it…..

In case you can’t read it, the quote was by Babe Ruth and it said, “Baseball was, is and always will be to me the best game in the world.”  I don’t know…..I don’t love baseball, but I love that it is an American institution……the boys of summer and all that……..and the quote made me cry.  I was pretty happy with the way the woodgrain on the bat turned out too.

The last cake that we did was a baby shower cake.  I was pretty excited about trying something new.  We’ve tried quite a variety of techniques with our cakes but I’m embarrassed to say that one thing that I hadn’t done yet was to craft cake components out of Rice Krispie treats.  I’d seen it done and had wanted to conquer it but just hadn’t really needed to do it.  Gumpaste is heavy and when you are making components that are too large to make out of gumpaste, you can shape Rice Krispie treats.  You shape them while they are still warm, crumbcoat them the same way that you would a cake and finish with fondant.  The request that we got for this cake was to match the cake to the invitations.  Again, the invitations were fun and we were excited about the idea of matching the cake to them.  Involved were a mama whale and baby whale and they would just be too heavy if we made them out of gumpaste.  I have to say that many times when we’ve tried something new, it doesn’t always work the first time.  or the second time. or the third or fourth.

But, this time, it worked and I added another technique to my cake tool belt.

And, we were pretty happy that it seemed to match the invitations pretty well too.

So we’ve been busy……and we love it.  Megan has a full time teaching job now and I’ve begun seeing clients again as a Christian counselor but we still love doing cakes.  We still love strategizing, piping, gumpast-ing, fondant-ing and baking.  It’s been a year since we started doing cakes and we love it as much as ever.  We’re still learning.  We’re still trying to improve, and, more than ever, we would still love to have our little shop somewhere.

Yeah.  I guess we’re still dreaming too.

~Wendy~

 

2 responses

  1. I would love for you to do a cake for me and some cupcakes I have a baby shower I’m helping put together for Rob’s brothers girlfriend who expecting a baby girl in september but we are having the shower on july 21st so give me a call at 267 884 2284. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

